Weight control

11 May

My partner just told me that I needed to write something on my blog or my subscribers would be worried that something had happened to me. She is a wise woman…I’ll call her “professorgrrl”…so, I’ll write something.

When I started college, I weighed 104 pounds “dripping wet.” Which begs the question, “who weighs themselves when they are dripping wet?” Apparently, enough people to start a metaphor.

Gradually, with age, I have added a few pounds. I graduated from college weighing quite a bit more than 104 pounds, due to the amount of corn dogs, brownies and hash browns at my disposal in the cafeteria. I love to eat. I like the taste of food. I like eating with friends who are good cooks. However, also with age, I have realized that for me, adding 10% or 20% of my ideal body weight, is not going to make my soft bones caused by XLH to feel very good. This especially hit home with me one day when I hoisted a 20-lb. bag of dog food over my shoulder to bring into the house after a trip to the grocery store. I literally felt the added weight crunching my knees. That was the day I decided to be extra diligent about watching how much I eat.

And, more recently, I have severely restricted my alcohol, namely red wine, intake. Yes, I know…it’s good for your heart and all that, and maybe one day when I get high blood pressure like everyone else in my family, I’ll take it up again. But for now, I’ll be the best designated driver ever. The reason for this change is a result of my recent visit to an endocrinologist at a nationally known hospital. I’ll call him “Dr. Blue.” Dr. Blue told me that for the bone pain commonly experienced by folks with XLH, I could take up to six extra-strength Tylenol per day without harmful side effects. He asked me if I consumed alcohol and I said, “yes, about four glasses of red wine per week.”

A little note about the four glasses of wine per week. That has pretty much been my rule for many years now, ever since an incident many years ago. I was at a party, and the more I drank (hey, I’m little and it doesn’t take much!), the sillier I got. Someone there had brought a kitten that she had rescued from a pack of marauding dogs, and she’d been bottle-feeding it while it recovered from dog bites. The poor kitten had never had a cat-mama, and didn’t even know how to drink milk from a bowl and the vet didn’t expect it to recover. Another friend at the party did “reiki” on the kitten, which was a significant contribution to the healing of this kitten. I took it upon myself, after about the third glass of wine, to get down on my hands and knees and teach that little kitty how to lap milk from a bowl. Needless to say, his smarts and my silliness weaned him off the bottle forever. And my headache the next day weaned me off that third glass of wine in one night forever.

So, back to Dr. Blue’ s advice about the Tylenol. He told me that on the days I wanted to drink, do not take any Tylenol. Hmm…trade a whole day of less pain (Tylenol) for one hour of less pain and more fun (red wine.) Hey, believe it or not, I can have a LOT of fun on Tylenol!

Which reminds me…Tylenol has ZERO calories and red wine…well, more than that. Which is in keeping with my desire to stay at my “fighting weight” as my brother says. That is very important for a warrior.

And the real reason I haven’t blogged any this week until now, is that I’ve had the stomach flu. I have lost four pounds. Let me tell you…I do NOT recommend this as a diet plan! And neither does professorgrrl.

© S. G. Hunter and Banjogrrldiaries, 2012-2017

3 Responses to “Weight control”

  1. Pegi May 12, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    Bummer about the XLH, bone pain, no alcohol and stomach flu! The alcohol is certainly low on the priorities, considering the other s*%& you have to deal with.

    Good for you and I sure hope you feel better!

  2. Ginny Simpson May 13, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    Sorry to hear about the flu – hope you’re OK by now. Interesting info about XLH – I had never even heard the term! Glad the Tylenol helps…

    Love, Ginny

    • banjogrrldiaries May 15, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      Only 1 in 20,000 people have XLH, so most people, including medical personnel, have never heard of it.

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

