Mother’s Day

13 May

Today, in the U.S.A., we celebrated Mother’s Day.

I can’t pass up the opportunity to say that my mother is and has been one of the most inspirational people I have ever known. With regards to XLH, it is highly probable that I inherited this disorder from her, though she has never had the tests specifically for that. She is short, like me, but she has about an inch on me. Otherwise, she does not present with the “normal” symptoms usually found in XLH, except the pain she has.

I have always thought of her as being like the “Energizer Bunny” that we see in TV commercials…still going and really, always going! She has taught me to live life not thinking about myself first, but thinking about the well-being of others first. Well, she has tried to teach me this. I am pretty sure I’m not nearly as thoughtful as she is.

At the age of 75, she drives her friends to their doctors’ appointments, bakes bread for them, runs errands for them and, in general, treats all of her friends as if they are her sisters that she is looking out for.

I know that she is in pain, because I just know. And sometimes, we even talk about these things. Some may look at her swollen, stiff hands and wonder but don’t really have any idea of what she feels. But beyond that, what they see is her radiant smile and gifts of her freshly baked bread.

She has shown me how to laugh and how to see the humor in life’s experiences. And her humor is not dark or sarcastic…it’s just funny. She has helped me to learn to laugh at myself, too. Which, the older I get, is an endless source of amusement.

So, here’s to my mother…short, sweet, smart, beautiful and loving. I hope that I will someday be at least half the woman she is!

© S. G. Hunter and Banjogrrldiaries, 2012-2017

4 Responses to “Mother’s Day”

  1. Pegi Sears Pike May 14, 2012 at 8:57 am #

    I love the way you write, Sheila! But, that’s really no surprise!
    A loving tribute to yo’ Mama.

  2. Melissa Bentley May 14, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    a beautiful tribute!

Leave a Reply

