Yale Drug Study, Part II

6 Aug

Tonight, I am finishing up the end of a three-month drug study that I participated in at Yale. I wrote about this study back on June 1st, if you’d like to follow the link that I posted then to the specifics of this study for XLH patients. I am grateful that I was physically able to participate. The folks in the research unit of the hospital have been great and very caring. I hope that my participation has contributed to furthering the research that is needed to find a good treatment for people with XLH. There are those whose disability or financial circumstances (taking time off work) might prevent them from being able to participate, so I felt I had some responsibility to volunteer. So, here I am. Sitting in a hospital room, drinking a lot of water, getting up and down a LOT to go the bathroom, while toting an IV pole. I think this is what it must feel like to be my sister, who says she has a small bladder, but without the IV pole. Sorry, sister, if you’re reading this. No wonder you always hated camping when we were growing up, since we had to go to a bathhouse for our bathroom needs!

So, I’ve entertained myself today, in between trips to the bathroom, blood draws, and the taking of vital signs, by taking photos looking out my window, and editing the photos I took yesterday and Monday, before I checked into the hospital.

20140804_161158_1

Looking out the plane window as we arrive. I have both a fear and fascination with flying. Plus, it gives me motion-sickness, so I have to fly under the influence of Dramamine.

 

20140805_155448_1

We drove through a very old cemetery (established in 1645) yesterday, in nearby Branford, Connecticut.  Life always seems to overcome death.

 

20140805_115752_1

Five Mile Point Lighthouse in New Haven. This old lighthouse is locked, so I did not get to climb this one. It’s still worth going to the park to see it, though. Check out the antique carrousel, too! I couldn’t ride it, of course, for fear of throwing up on it. Nope…can’t do circles. Don’t ever ask me to go to the fair. I am no fun. This is not XLH-related, by the way.

 

20140806_174814_1

View out my hospital window, looking down.

 

20140806_174656_1

Another view, looking southward.

 

20140806_155122_1

Is this a selfie or a footie? I’m not sure.  To all my knitting friends out there, I have some knitting advice. Do not knit while under the influence of Dramamine. My first attempt, which I started on the airplane, was a disaster. I had to start over. This attempt (a baby hat) is going much better.

 

Copyright S.G. Hunter and Banjogrrldiaries, 2014.

Leave a Reply

