Point of View

6 Oct

I had an appointment with my endocrinologist last week that confirmed something that I have long suspected–I have an odd point of view about some things. Now, I know that I do have a unique point of view, literally, when it comes to my short vantage point. I mean, I have seen more belt buckles in my lifetime than most people, which is why I hate large parties with complete strangers.

What led him to conclude that my way of thinking was a unique sort of logic came about as a result of him confirming what medications I currently take. In August, he had prescribed two new meds for me, calcitriol and phospha 250, and that was going to add 5 pills per day to my pillbox. Those of you XLH-ers who take those meds know that while the calcitriol is small, the phospha 250 is what my mother would refer to as a “horse pill.” Those 3 phospha pills and 2 calcitriol pills per day simply did not fit in my pillbox. So, I guess I’m vain. When I realized they didn’t fit, the first thing that came to my mind was, “Something’s got to go,” not, “I need a bigger pillbox.” I decided that since my cholesterol pill is doing a great job of lowering my bad cholesterol, then I could probably eliminate the flax seed pill and the fish oil pill, both of which are quite large. I did that, problem solved. Quite honestly, I associate huge pill boxes with old age. I know, I know, that’s really not fair, but what can I say? I’m just not ready for the big pillbox that has four compartments for each day. I can’t bring myself to carry a pillbox that qualifies as “carry-on luggage.” I am vain, just between me and you.

Blue Pill Box

Which leads me to reveal a secret dream that I’ve had for many years. I discussed this with a friend several years ago, when I bought my current pillbox, the one that seems to be shrinking. We felt like people in our generation would appreciate a more whimsical, fun pillbox. We both agreed that a pillbox that is more like a Pez dispenser would be way more cool to carry around and whip out at the restaurant than the boring ones that are currently available. And now that I have pills that are supposed to be taken with meals, the calcitriol and the phospha 250, I think it’s time to work on my invention.

Just remember: You first read about it here!

Pez Pill Boxes

My current vintage collection consists of Woodstock Wednesday, Snoopy Sunday, Tasmanian Tuesday and Fred Friday. I need three more, for Monday, Thursday and Saturday. Suggestions?

Fred Friday pills

Hmm…those doggone phospha pills are a little long. I guess I’ll have to stand them up or cut them in half. Still, though, way cooler than a box.

Copyright S. G. Hunter and Banjogrrldiaries, 2014

5 Responses to “Point of View”

  1. Larry October 7, 2014 at 6:46 am #

    Great post. I want a “Pez” pill box when you get them in production!

  2. oceandepths42 October 7, 2014 at 1:26 pm #

    You’re on to something big!

  3. HSeidel September 20, 2015 at 2:43 pm #

    I also have XLH and those K Phos pills are pretty big. At least the pill dispenser will make it more fun to take my medicine. Pretty clever!

Leave a Reply

