When one year closes, another one opens.

31 Dec

Yes, I know the correct saying is “When one door closes, another one opens.” Or something like that.

Here we go, leaving 2014 and rushing headlong into 2015. First of all, let me say thank you to those of you who subscribed, made comments, hit the “Like” button, with an extra thank you if you’re one of my fellow members of the XLH tribe. I wish you all well this coming year.

The year 2014 has been a very interesting year of blogging, with many ups and downs. Regarding XLH, I was able to participate in a drug study at Yale, and as a result, am now under the care of a physician who is treating me with the standard course of treatment for adults with XLH. This is all going well so far, and I’ve been feeling better.

The saddest part of the year was the loss of our beloved Jack Russell Terrier, Deacon, whom I blogged about this year. He was truly an inspiration for aging, but he passed away in September at the ripe old age of 14. This was all very difficult, even for Tucker the Beagle, who was more attached to him than we thought. As a result of Tucker’s loneliness…okay, so he wasn’t the only heartbroken one…we now have Penny, a terrier mix. I think a photo of Penny is in order here.

Penny running towards me

She has been very good for me. She’s very sweet, brings out my nurturing side and keeps me from sitting on the couch too much, since she’s usually into something that she shouldn’t be doing. She adores Tucker and he adores her. She’s very small, about 9 pounds, and has a lot of love to give. In October, my doctor put me on blood pressure medication and between the pills, knitting and Penny, my blood pressure is under control. I’d like to think that the knitting and Penny deserve most of the credit for my improved health. But I’ll keep taking the pill, just to be sure. Ironically, the doctor who first noticed I had blood pressure problems was the one who ran the XLH drug study at Yale. So, the drug study was unexpectedly helpful in other ways.

So, here we go. rushing headlong into 2015, like Penny in the photo with the toy in her mouth. Not sure what will happen…will Mommy throw the toy again or not? Will she throw it to the same place or not? It doesn’t seem to matter to her…she keeps coming back for more, ready for whatever is next.

So, life moves along and new year with who knows what awaits us…I hope you all will keep coming back for more!

6 Responses to “When one year closes, another one opens.”

  1. Larry January 2, 2015 at 6:12 am #

    Love the Post. Here’s to a New Year!

    • banjogrrldiaries January 2, 2015 at 9:34 am #

      Happy New Year! We didn’t see each other in 2014 so we have to make up for lost time soon!

  2. oceandepths42 January 4, 2015 at 11:00 pm #

    Enjoyed this new blog post. Cute doggy! Happy New Year to you!

  3. Becky Mock January 11, 2015 at 11:35 am #

    Sweet dog! If I wasn’t traveling so much, I’d be looking for a Penny for myself. Not fair to the dog. 😦 I read your Sept post also and it’s the kick in the pants I needed. I must do something about my weight gain that I’ve blamed on my secondary hypoparathyroidism…an extra gift from XLH. I wish to follow you, but do I have to set up a WordPress account?

Leave a Reply

