More of the same

4 Sep

Where have I been? I see that I haven’t blogged in a month. A month! August is one of my busiest months with my work, so I’ve mostly been working, coming home and putting on the heating pads.

I’ve also been knitting. As I mentioned in my post on August 2nd, a book that I co-authored is now published and available. We had some friends who were very supportive during this long writing process. They encouraged us to keep writing and to publish it, not just in the e-reader format but also in paperback so that people who still love the feel of a “real” book would read it. They also enjoyed imagining who would play the characters in a movie of our book! We all agreed that Meryl Streep should be in there somehow so that it would be a blockbuster. Ha! What wonderful friends we have to encourage us to press on.

These same friends also have been supportive and loving with regards to my XLH. I cannot ask for better friends and I hope every XLH-er has the kind of friends that these folks are. I knitted bookmarks for them simply because the process of knitting makes me think about and be thankful for the person for whom I am knitting. I am very grateful as I ponder the love that I have in my life.

20150824_110347

For you knitters, this is a drop stitch scarf pattern that I adapted to make the bookmark. I used size 2 double pointed needles and sock yarn. Crochet yarn also works well. If you want your bookmark to be stiff, try some starch. Ravelry.com has many bookmark patterns but this pattern that I used is simple and can be done while watching TV, but probably not while reading.

As for current news, I’m due for another 24-hour urine collection followed up by blood work. I’ve had a couple of medicine changes this year. I’m dreading it. The last time, it took three needle sticks (2 trips) for the phlebotomist to get it right. And the doctor didn’t get all the test results faxed to him, either. Sometimes I wonder how people, especially elderly people, deal with all the craziness in the medical industry. I sat with Professorgrrl’s mother in the ER one night last week and marveled, shaking my head, that Professorgrrl had to convince them that her mother did NOT need another chest x-ray, since the doctor’s office had just done a chest x-ray one hour prior to arriving at the hospital.

All of you who deal with chronic health issues probably have occasional dread of a medical visit, so I’m sure I’m not alone. You may dread going to the doctor even if you don’t have a chronic issue. It’s sort of like taking your dog to the vet–you know he/she will come back with fleas. I half expect to come back from any doctor’s visit with a cold or virus (but not fleas, thank goodness!) But, I try to remember to be grateful that medical care in this country, even with it’s craziness, is better than the availability of medical care in many other countries.

So that’s what’s going on with me. How about you, blog-reading friends? I hear from some of you occasionally and it always lifts me up to hear from you, especially the XLH-er’s. I think of you often and hope you’re hanging in there!

Copyright 2015, S.G. Hunter

4 Responses to “More of the same”

  1. Becky Mock September 4, 2015 at 6:03 pm #

    Good to learn what you are up to. Let’s meet for lunch again. Becky

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Kimberly September 6, 2015 at 9:18 pm #

    New fan of your blog here. Good luck w the test (I know what an inconvenience those are!) and I hope you have good results from all the labs. I know how waiting for those results can be for us with XLH. (I get weirdly competitive w myself to try to “beat” my prior results – which I have no control over, & I know that! Silly.)
    Thanks for the great writing. It’s so helpful reading about someone else w XLH & in a format so beautiful to read. Just lovely.

Leave a Reply

