Fused roots

7 Sep

Fused root #12

Fused Roots!

Now showing at your local movie theater, it is a film about a tooth whose two roots are fused. Can anything save it?!

Rated PG for Premolar Grimness.

Sigh. Yes, I lost another tooth. Tooth #12 on the dental chart. We XLH-ers specialize in dental problems. I think this is the 16th tooth that I’ve had to have pulled, bridged, crowned or “root canal-ed.” Last year, I lost its match on the other side. That one did not have a periodontal ligament, but from what I remember, it did have the usual two roots.

But this one, #12 premolar, had two roots which were fused into one fat one, which contributed to its instability. Of course, we didn’t know it had fused roots until Dr. Tooth extracted it. Prior to the extraction, we discussed whether it was worth saving, not knowing that it had fused roots, since that didn’t show up in the x-Ray. I finally decided that he should pull it, given the history I had with the same one on the other side. So, he pulled it. It hurt. A lot. But it hurt before he pulled it, too.

The over-riding thought that I had throughout this tooth-pulling ordeal was how lucky I was. Lucky, you might ask?

On Friday morning when I realized that the growing pain I’d had all week in my mouth was coming from one particular tooth, I thought, “How unlucky am I? It’s Friday and I have a dental emergency and they’re closed on Fridays. Not only that, it’s the Friday before Labor Day weekend. I’m going to have a long, rough weekend.”

I called the office, though, because I was concerned. When I pressed the appropriate button for “true dental emergency,” MY dentist, out of the four dentists who work at this practice, answered the phone. MY dentist, Dr. Tooth, was on call for the long weekend! How lucky was THAT! I couldn’t believe how my bad luck had changed with one phone call. All I really wanted was his advice, but after we chatted, we agreed to meet at the office for him to check it out.

When I think of the many medical professionals I’ve entrusted myself to over the years, Dr. Tooth is the one I’ve been the most worried about “losing.” Of course, he deserves to retire one day, and I suppose I could run out of teeth to pull or crown before he retires, at the rate I’m going, but still–the thought of trusting another dentist is nerve-wracking. He is a compassionate man and an excellent dentist. He has a very conservative approach to dentistry and doesn’t try to sell me some product that will whiten, brighten and glamorize my smile. He’s old school. I like old school.

So my movie, “Fused Roots,” starring me, has a happy ending for now. The pain is gone. The source of the pain is gone. And my dentist was there for me.

Stay tuned for the sequel: “Fused Roots II: The Invoice Arrival.” I’m sure it will be a shocker.

Copyright 2015, Banjogrrldiaries and S.G. Hunter

Leave a Reply

